People Who Rent Out Their Cars
For accidents in Florida that occur on or after January 1, 2022, an owner who rents his or her car under a peer-to-peer car sharing program does NOT need to carry bodily injury liability coverage. Florida Statute 627.7483
Turo is an example of a peer-to-peer car sharing program. Before January 1, 2022, Turo provided BI liability and property damage liability coverage.
It had a $1,000,000 combined single limit per occurrence for owners during the rental period, designed to be on a primary basis.
During the delivery period is on the way to retrieve or has retrieved the car from the renter), and only so long as the owner satisfies the eligibility requirements and is therefore an approved Turo driver, this coverage applies as well.
Does Florida Require Uninsured Motorist Insurance
No, Florida does not require uninsured motorist insurance. However, it is still a good idea to purchase this coverage for additional protection. 20.4% of motorists in Florida are uninsured. Additionally, the minimum insurance requirements in Florida are low. Having uninsured motorist insurance may help you, especially if your medical expenses surpass your PIP limit.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean
Unlike other states, Florida car insurance requirements do not include bodily injury coverage. Instead, drivers in the state need to have at least $10,000 for personal injury protection and $10,000 for property damage liability.
PIP refers to coverage for medical expenses due to a car accident. It covers the policyholder and the passengers during the incident. If you get the minimum requirement in Florida, your insurance carrier will pay up to $10,000 for healthcare expenses regardless of who is at fault.
On the other hand, property damage liability is insurance that covers expenses related to damages you or someone driving your insured vehicle caused to another persons property. For a minimum coverage policy, your insurer will cover up to $10,000 of the costs.
Read Also: Personal Injury Lawyer Vancouver Wa
Is Property Damage Coverage Required In Florida
Florida does require property damage liability coverage which pays for repairs if you cause a car accident that damages someone else’s property or vehicle. This coverage does not pay for damages to your own vehicle in an accident, even if you were not at fault. In this case, the other driver’s property damage coverage would pay for your repairs.
Under Florida law, you must have at least $10,000 of property damage liability coverage. A higher coverage limit is recommended, however, as $10,000 doesn’t go far in an accident. Even minor damage to a bumper that requires replacement can cost $3,500 or more, depending on the vehicle. With an accident more serious than a fender-bender, damages will likely far exceed $10,000.
Florida Car Insurance Requirements For Taxis
Taxi drivers must have bodily injury liability insurance of $125,000 per person and $250,000 per accident. In addition, if you drive a taxi, youll also need $50,000 of property damage liability coverage instead of the lower minimum for regular drivers.
Under Florida car insurance law, taxis are different from rideshare services like Uber or Lyft. However, rideshare drivers do need additional auto insurance coverage. Rideshare drivers in Florida should check with their rideshare app to determine if they are covered by the company or need their own rideshare insurance policy.
Recommended Reading: Chances Of Walking After Spinal Cord Injury
How Bodily Injury Liability Works
There are two types of BIL coverage, and commonly, youll have both. First is the BIL coverage per person and second is per accident. Youll see them written as numbers, such as 25/50. This means your policy will cover $25,000 worth of costs per person for each accident and $50,000 total, regardless of how many people are injured, per accident.
Theres also a third type of coverage called property damage liability, which covers costs to repair the other drivers car or any other damage, such as to a fence or tree. Your insurance coverage may be written: 25/50/25, with the first two numbers related to your BIL coverage, and third to your property damage coverage in this case, for $25,000.
Lets take a look at how it works. Lets say you are late for work and you run a red light. Unfortunately, you hit a car that is legally in the intersection, causing injuries to the driver that result in $35,000 medical bills. If you have 25/50 coverage, your insurer will pay $25,000, and youll have to pay the remaining $10,000.
If theres a second person in the car who sustains an injury costing $10,000, your insurer will cover that, because the total for both is under your maximum coverage per accident, or $50,000. But youll still need to pay anything over $25,000 for the drivers injuries.
Other Types Of Insurance
Although it is not required by law, many drivers buy other types of insurance coverage in addition to the mandatory PIP and property damage liability insurance. Common optional coverage purchased includes: collision, comprehensive, uninsured motorist, medical payment, towing, rental reimbursement, and accidental death and dismemberment.
Collision insurance pays for repairs to your car if it collides with another vehicle, crashes into an object or turns over. It pays regardless of who causes the accident. Collision insurance does not cover injuries to people or damage to the property of others.
Comprehensive insurance pays for losses from incidents other than a collision. Examples would be fire, theft, windstorm, vandalism, flood or hitting an animal. Damage caused by falling objects is also covered under this policy. If you have comprehensive coverage, windshield replacement is the only claim for which you are not charged a deductible. Florida law requires this waiver to encourage drivers to immediately replace damaged windshields.
You may be required to purchase comprehensive and collision insurance if your car is financed. However, it is illegal for the lending institution to require you to purchase insurance from a particular company or agent.
Also Check: Minor Head Injury Recovery Time
Optional Car Insurance Coverage In Florida
Florida law only requires drivers to purchase property damage liability and PIP coverage, but these coverages arent enough to provide robust financial protection in the event of an accident.
Drivers who want or need more insurance should consider adding some of the following coverages to their policy:
Bodily injury liability: Bodily injury liability coverage pays for medical expenses for the other driver and their passengers after an at-fault accident. While Florida doesnt require bodily injury liability insurance, having enough liability coverage to pay for damages in a serious accident can prevent you from being taken to court if you cause more damage than their PIP insurance will cover.
Comprehensive coverage: Comprehensive insurance pays for damage caused by something other than a collision, like theft, weather damage, or hitting an animal. Drivers who are financing their vehicle may be required by their lender to get comprehensive coverage.
Collision coverage: Collision insurance pays for damage to your vehicle in a collision, no matter who is at fault. Drivers who are financing their car may be required by their lender to get collision coverage.
Medical payments: Often called MedPay, medical payments coverage can help pay for medical bills and expenses for you and your passengers in the event of a car accident. This would be considered supplemental to your PIP coverage.
Why You Need Bodily Injury Liability Coverage In Florida
Posted on December 1, 2017
You may think that if you have the minimum insurance required by Florida law, you are covered after a car accident. In fact, without bodily injury liability coverage, you are very much at risk of being personally responsible for medical bills or other damages resulting from a car accident. Here are some reasons why you should consider adding bodily injury liability coverage to your automobile insurance policy.
If you were involved in a crash and need immediate legal representation speak to a car accident attorney now.
Read Also: Austin Texas Personal Injury Attorney
Ive Already Been Involved In A Car Accident Is It Too Late
The first thing we do when a new client hires us for their car accident injuries is obtain whats called policy declarations to evaluate the coverages available. Many times, regardless of state minimums, there is ample coverage. We let our clients know within a week exactly how much bodily injury and uninsured motorist coverage is available. It is important to know this early since our goal is always to put as much compensation in the clients pocket as possible.
Do You Have To Carry Bil Coverage In Florida
Unlike almost every other state, Florida does not require drivers to carry liability coverage for bodily injury suffered by other drivers, passengers, pedestrians, and bicyclists in an accident caused by the policyholder. Bodily injury liability coverage is readily available for any driver who wants to add it to their policy in Florida.
Read Also: Pa Statute Of Limitations Personal Injury
Understanding The Florida No
October 26, 2015 By Billy Kauffman
What is No-Fault Law?
The Florida No-Fault Motor Vehicle Law requires drivers to carry Personal Injury Protection coverage as part of their auto insurance this No-Fault coverage pays the insureds bills, regardless of fault, up to the limit of the insurance . For example, after an accident, ones No-Fault coverage would pay $10,000 towards personal recovery. Personal Injury Protection pays 80% of medical bills, 60% of lost wages, and 100% of replacement services costs also, PIP contains a $5,000 death benefit, should the driver die due to injuries sustained in the accident . This law was passed with the intention of lowering the number of tort lawsuits in relation to car accidents. So, instead of immediately suing each other, the two parties in the accident now have their own Personal Injury Protection, regardless of fault, with which to pay personal bills incurred by the accident. It is important to note that PIP is not liability insurance and it benefits the insured only. This coverage follows the individual around the state of Florida, whether driving an owned, borrowed, or rented vehicle.
What is Covered in my Auto Insurance Policy?
Where does No-Fault Coverage fit into my Auto Insurance Policy?
Uninsured Motorist / Underinsured Motorist
You buy Florida UM insurance coverage to protect yourself if you are injured.
If you are hurt in an accident where another driver is responsible for the accident but that driver either has no insurance or not enough insurance to cover your damages â you can file a claim on your own UM insurance to pay for personal injury damages you have sustained.
Florida does not require drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured coverage.
Also Check: Personal Injury Attorney Miami Fl
Am I Required To Have Bodily Injury Coverage In Florida
Technically, Florida Law does not require you to carry bodily injury coverage. Personal injury protection coverage of at least $10,000 and property damage coverage of at least $10,000 is required by law. However, it is important to know that Florida has a Financial Responsibility Law. If you cause an accident resulting in injuries, you must show that you either have bodily injury coverage or post a bond for the required coverage, which is $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident. So although bodily injury coverage is not required in Florida, the effects of not having bodily injury coverage can result in costs thousands of dollars more than a monthly premium. Failure to show proof of coverage or inability to post the bond amount can result in suspension of your drivers license.
The applicable statues regarding insurance requirements andfinancial responsibility are included below.
324.021Definitions minimum insurancerequired.Thefollowing words and phrases when used in this chapter shall, for the purpose ofthis chapter, have the meanings respectively ascribed to them in this section,except in those instances where the context clearly indicates a differentmeaning:
DEPARTMENT.The Department of HighwaySafety and Motor Vehicles.
OPERATOR.Every person who is in actualphysical control of a motor vehicle.
PERSON.Every natural person, firm,copartnership, association, or corporation.
NONRESIDENT.Every person who is not aresident of this state.
What Amount Of Florida Bodily Injury Liability Insurance Should You Get
We recommend that you purchase as much Bodily Injuries Liability insurance as possible as car accident lawyers. You get two benefits from your bodily injury coverage: it protects you assets in the event that you injure another person on the road and allows you to purchase equal amounts of Uninsured motorist coverage.
Financial Responsibility Law requires bodily injuries liability coverage up to $10,000 per person and $20,000 for each accident. This is the minimum amount that you need to protect your license in case you are involved in an accident. This coverage does not cover you. A single visit to the hospital could easily run into excess.
We recommend you buy BI coverage that covers at least $100,000 per person, and $300,000.00 per accident. You should consider purchasing more if you have the funds. Your insurer will only offer you Uninsured motorist coverage if you buy Bodily Injury Liability coverage. If you purchase the $100,000/$300,000.00 of BI, you can also buy $100,000/$300,000.00 of UM. This coverage will provide you with protection if you are injured by an underinsured driver. Remember that serious injuries from car accidents can cost you well over $100,000 for medical treatment, lost income, and permanent disability. We recommend you buy more BI and UM if possible.
Don’t Miss: Personal Injury Lawyer Boston Ma
The Importance Of Uninsured And Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Equally important is the need to carry Florida uninsured motorist coverage. As Ive told countless people who have come to my New Port Richey office for car accident-related injuries, It is more important to have uninsured motorist coverage in Florida than most other states. The reason for this advice is that persons injured in a New Port Richey, Florida accident may not be able to collect from the negligent party because, as stated above, liability coverage is not required. Florida uninsured motorist coverage will protect you and your loved ones if you are injured by the automobile negligence of a third person without the optional Florida bodily injury liability coverage.
We can help answer any legal questions you have and will fight for your legal rights. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation.
What Are The Limits On Bodily Injury Liability
Like other types of car insurance, bodily injury liability also comes with a coverage limit. There are two coverage limits youll have to choose: Maximum amount your insurer will pay for injury expenses per person involved in the accident Total coverage for injuries in an accident
What are the minimum car insurance requirements in Florida?
Minimum Car Insurance Coverage Requirements in Florida. In order to register and drive a four-wheeled vehicle in Florida, vehicle owners must carry: $10,000 in personal injury protection benefits, and. $10,000 in property damage liability benefits .
Recommended Reading: Workers Compensation Payouts Back Injuries
What Is Uninsured Motorist Insurance
Although insurance is critical to protecting drivers in the event of an accident, 26.7 percent of Florida drivers do not carry insurance. In fact, Florida is one of just 5 states where more than 20 percent of drivers are uninsured.
So what happens if you are injured by a driver who does not carry any form of insurance? You could sue them for your injuries and collect against their personal assets, however, it is unlikely that they will have enough to cover the cost of your property damage and medical bills.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage, or UM, is designed to protect you and other family members who may drive your car in the event they are hit by an uninsured driver. Though UM insurance does not cover property damage to your car, it will help cover the cost of:
- Loss of quality of life
- Long-term medical care
In addition to UM coverage, drivers can also purchase underinsured motorist coverage as well. This form of insurance provides additional coverage in the event that you are injured in an accident with a driver that does not have enough insurance to cover your medical expenses.
Can You Get Car Insurance Without A License In Florida
Generally, it is possible to get car insurance without a drivers license. However, the process may be more complicated than usual. Additionally, many auto insurance providers do not offer car insurance to people with no license. It is also important to note that Florida requires a license to drive a motor vehicle on the streets of the state.
You May Like: New York Personal Injury Lawyers
Injury Begins At Impact Recovery Begins Here
Need help getting here? Don’t worry, the ride’s on us! We offer transportation services to all auto accident patients. Give us a call or click the button below and we’ll arrange a pick-up for the closest County Line location. Walk-ins are also welcome, just stop on by and we’ll get you checked out!
Helping patients for over 30 years
Is Collision & Comprehensive Coverage Required In Florida
Most of these forms of car insurance coverage focus on bodily injury, medical expenses, and lost wages, but a car accident also comes with another type of damage: physical damage to your car. Collision and comprehensive coverage both cover different types of damage to your vehicle. Both types of coverage require a deductible which you must pay when you make a claim before your policy begins to payout.
Collision coverage covers damage to your car due to a collision with another vehicle or a stationary object. This type of coverage pays for damages if you hit another car, crash into a truck, hit a pothole, or your car rolls over.
Comprehensive coverage pays for damages to your car due to covered events such as vandalism, hail, theft, or wind damage. You may also make a comprehensive claim if an animal collides with your vehicle, a falling tree limb hits your car, or your car is stolen.
Recommended Reading: Fayetteville Nc Personal Injury Lawyer