Misdemeanor Dui Upgraded To Felony Dui
Because a misdemeanor DUI gets upgraded to a felony due to the injuries, a person will sometimes get arrested on a misdemeanor DUI with injury and then have the misdemeanor get enhanced to a felony at the first court date. This can be a shock to a person who was arrested on a misdemeanor and released from jail on a low bail only to come to court to find out how serious the case is. If you have a DUI injury case, contact an attorney immediately.
Not Under The Influence
Drivers are only guilty under VC 23153 if they injured a person when operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. A defense, then, is for a defendant to show that he/she was not intoxicated or impaired in any manner. Keep in mind though that this offense could be limited if a driver failed a breath test or a chemical test.
Penalties For Drunk Or Drugged Driving In Michigan
A court must resolve a drunk driving case within 77 days from the date of the arrest. Possible penalties include:
- License suspension or revocation. Theres a mandatory 6-month drivers license suspension for a first conviction. The driver could be eligible for a restricted license after 30 days of suspension. The first conviction of high BAC results in a mandatory 1-year license suspension. The driver could be eligible for a restricted license after 45 days of suspension with an ignition interlock device installed.
- Fees and fines. If your license is suspended, revoked, or restricted because of drunk driving, theres a $125 reinstatement fee.
- Rehabilitation. The court may order a rehabilitation program for a first offender. The court must order rehabilitation for a driver who has a prior conviction or is convicted of High BAC.
There are harsher punishments for people who have multiple drunk driving convictions. For instance, a second conviction can result in 5 days to 1 year of consecutive jail time, 30 to 90 days of community service, or both.
Drunk or drugged driving becomes a felony if:
- Its a 3rd conviction over the drivers lifetime
- The drunk driving resulted in someones death.
- The drunk driving caused serious injury to another person.
Also Check: Personal Injury Attorney In Houston
If I Was Dui Does That Mean I’m Automatically At Fault For The Accident
Usually, but it’s not a legal certainty. Just because you were cited for — or convicted of — a DUI/DWI doesn’t necessarily mean you’re at fault for the car accident. The other driver may be the cause of the accident if that driver ran a stop sign, was speeding, or otherwise failed to obey the traffic laws. Learn more about proving fault for a car accident.
Dui And Personal Injury Enhancements
Under Florida law, a DUI charge can be enhanced if the victim of an accident is injured. A prosecutor can use the enhancement even if the injury is not serious and even if the defendant is a first time offender. These charges can be tricky as a victim may not seem to have injuries at the scene of the crime but then may later develop minor injuries that reveal serious injuries. This type of DUI can also be complicated for a defendant as they may also face civil liability if the victim of the DUI accident decides to seek compensation through a personal injury lawsuit.
Recommended Reading: Hyperextension Of The Knee Injury
How Much Can You Receive In Damages From A Dui Accident
Like any personal injury lawsuit, that depends on 3 factors:
Chemical Test Refusal Vehicle Code 23612
California Vehicle Code 23612 VC sets forth Californias implied consent law. It states that by driving in California, motorists give their consent to a chemical test if lawfully arrested on suspicion of DUI.
Refusing to take a chemical test is a violation of VC 23612. Therefore, a driver who refuses to take a breath or blood test may be considered negligent per se.
The jury may conclude that a refusal to take a test means the defendant was inebriated.15
Don’t Miss: Personal Injury Lawyers San Francisco
Dui With Serious Bodily Injury
If you are arrested for a DUI with serious bodily injury, you are facing a significant criminal charge. The severity of this charge cannot be understated. While extremely serious, this crime is very technical and nuanced. An experienced DUI lawyer can help navigate all the complexities and legal issues that surround this charge. At Keller, Melchiorre & Walsh, we have three former prosecutors that handle DUI with serious bodily injury, DUI manslaughter, and Vehicular Homicide cases.
Dui With Injuries Vc23153 Felony No Probation 2 Or More Priors
If you are convicted of a felony DUI causing injury and have two or more priors, and are not granted probation, you will face 2, 3, or 4 years in prison with an enhancement of 3 to 6 years in prison if any victim suffers great bodily injury and a 1 year additional sentence for each additional victim that suffers injury . Great Bodily Injury is defined as significant or substantial physical injury. It is an injury that is greater than minor or moderate harm. If a victim suffers great bodily injury, you will be charged with a strike offense which has significant consequences in any subsequent criminal case you might get. You will be ordered to pay fines in the amount of $1015 and $5000, take an 18 month DUI class, pay restitution to any victims, and placed on parole or post release community supervision. You will be required to install an IID for up to 5 years and your license will be revoked for a period of 5 years.
Don’t Miss: Personal Injury Attorney In Florida
How Does Michigan Define Drunk Driving
- Driving while intoxicated or impaired by alcohol, a controlled substance, or another intoxicating substance.
- With a body alcohol content of 0.08% or higher.
- With a BAC of 0.17% or more, which creates a High BAC crime.
- With any amount of cocaine or a Schedule 1 controlled substance in your body.
If youre under age 21, there are additional definitions of drunk driving that include:
- Driving with a BAC of 0.02% or higher, or any alcohol in your body unless it was consumed at a generally recognized religious ceremony.
- Purchase, possession, or consumption of alcohol. You may only transport alcohol in a vehicle if theres a person present who is age 21 or older. If a person under 21 is discovered to have alcohol in their vehicle , they can be charged with a misdemeanor.
Drunk Driving Leads To Serious Accidents
As a victim of a drunk driver, you are aware that driving under the influence can lead to serious accidents. It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while impaired in all 50 U.S. states. The legal threshold for impairment is a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher. Some states may even charge you with driving under the influence if the arresting officer determines that you are legally impaired, even if your blood alcohol content is less than 0.08, or if you are under the legal age to consume alcohol. Sometimes these cases are thrown out of court, but the arresting officer knows that it is more important to remove an impaired driver from the roads in order to keep the public safe.
This legal threshold of 0.08 percent may look different for different people. Your gender, weight, and the time in which the alcohol was consumed will have an impact on your blood alcohol content. For example, a person who weighs 150 pounds and a person who weighs 250 pounds can consume the same amount and type of alcohol in a one-hour period have two different blood alcohol levels.
Recommended Reading: Personal Injury Lawyer Lynchburg Va
What If I Was In An Accident How Does It Affect My Dui Case In Los Angeles
A DUI charge involving a car accident is very difficult to face. It not only carries more serious legal penalties, it can also be traumatic. However, its possible to defend yourself against a California DUI even if someone was hurtand even if someone died. Your DUI charge does not have to ruin your life.
To defend against your DUI, you need to understand exactly how the accident changes the proceedings, and what penalties you face.
Is Dui With Serious Bodily Injury A Felony Or Misdemeanor Charge
DUI with serious bodily injury is a third-degree felony. However, this does not mean the charge cannot change. For instance, if you are involved in a DUI crash and the other person is transported to the hospital, the extent of their injuries may not be known initially. If the injuries are unknown the officer may make an initial arrest for misdemeanor DUI crash charge. If the prosecution later discovers that the person transported to the hospital has serious bodily injuries, they can up-file the misdemeanor DUI crash charge to felony DUI with serious bodily injury. The reverse is also true. If the officer makes an arrest for DUI with serious bodily injury, but the prosecution later discovers there is not serious bodily injury, then the case can be down-filed.
There are other situations that can lead the severity of the charge being lessened. A skilled DUI lawyer may be able to successfully plea bargain a DUI with serious bodily injury to a misdemeanor charge. When there is a DUI with serious bodily injury charge, it is common to have a blood draw to determine the blood alcohol content of the driver. Blood draws are extremely invasive and there may be a motion to suppress to challenge the blood draw.
Recommended Reading: San Diego Work Injury Attorneys
Being Charged With A Dui Accident With Injuries In Pennsylvania
A car accident with injuries is always a frightening situation. But if you happened to be intoxicated at the time of the accident and were charged with DUI, you face serious penalties that could damage the rest of your life.
If you were charged with DUI and injuries were involved, you can also be charged with aggravated assault, which is a felony. If a death occurred due to the accident, you could be charged with vehicular homicide.
If you are convicted of DUI Aggravated Assault, you face up to ten years in jail and a $25,000 fine. A DUI Homicide conviction is a mandatory three years in prison and a $25,000 fine for each victim killed in the accident.
Having a felony on your permanent record can have dire consequences to your job, future employment, and reputation for the rest of your life.
What Happens If Someone Was Injured Due To A Dui
It is very common for a person to be charged with Aggravated Assault if they cause a serious physical injury to someone because of a DUI-related car accident. This is typically charged as a class 3 dangerous felony. That means that if you are convicted as charged, you face a mandatory prison sentence ranging from 5 to 15 yearseven if you are a first-time offender with no prior criminal history or traffic violations. Additionally, you face a 3-year drivers license revocation.
Read Also: Personal Injury Attorney Miami Fl
Georgia Dui Accident Victims Are Entitled To Fair Civil Compensation
While DUI is normally considered a crime, when driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs results in an accident and personal injuries, a civil claim or case usually exists. If you are the victim in a DUI accident, it is important to know that during the criminal case, the prosecutor is not your lawyer. While the prosecutor may try to help you on behalf of the State, the prosecutor does not represent you in your claim for civil damages and compensation.
To recover compensation, in the form of a settlement or verdict, against the drunk-driver or their insurance company, you may represent yourself or hire a civil, personal injury lawyer.
Your civil damages claim may be assisted by proving that the at-fault drunk driver was charged with or convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or prescription or illegal drugs.
Punitive Damages Can Affect The Value Of Your Settlement
Punitive damages, also referred to as exemplary damages, are a form of punishment for the drunk driver. According to the Official Code of Georgia Annotated §51-12-5.1, punitive damages are only counted if the person who caused your personal injury:
- Acted out of malice
- Acted with the intent to harm
- Was extremely negligent in their behavior
- Acted fraudulently
The value of your settlement can increase due to punitive damages. In the case of drunk driving accidents, you can seek an award for these damages due to the egregious and hazardous nature of driving under the influence. Many courts are unsympathetic to drunk drivers, so the drunk drivers likelihood of paying for punitive damages is very high.
Read Also: Atlantic City Personal Injury Lawyers
When Does A Dui Accident With Injuries Result In A Felony Charge
Now remember not every DUI in Florida will be charged as a felony. When a person accused of driving under the influence is involved in a traffic accident, the seriousness of the charges and the possible penalties depend in part on the extent of the harm. For example, if only property damage results, the charge will be a misdemeanor of the first degree, carrying a possible sentence of up to one year in jail.
A DUI accident with minor injuries may also result in a misdemeanor charge, with the same maximum penalties. But, a DUI with serious bodily injury may be charged as a felony of the third degree. That means a possible prison sentence of up to five years, and a fine of up to $5,000.
If someone is killed as a result of a DUI, including an unborn child, the crime is a felony of the second degree and carrys a minimum sentence of at least four years imprisonment. Such an event is known as DUI manslaughter and as DUI manslaughter is a felony of the second degree, here in Florida an individual convicted of such an offense faces up to 15 years in prison, and a fine of up to $10,000.It is also critically important to understand that if the driver who committed a DUI that resulted in death was aware of the crash and failed to provide information and render aid, then the charge may be a felony of the first degree, meaning a possible 30 years in prison.
You Dont Have To Plead Guilty Contact Our Office Today For A Free Same Day Consultation
Because you have so much to lose you need the most experienced and aggressive DUI Accident defense attorneys on your side. Whether its defending you in trial or negotiating for dismissal, you can count on us. Our experienced and aggressive negotiating efforts usually result in better outcomes for our clients including reduced charges, lesser jail days, and smaller fines.
Recommended Reading: Does Health Insurance Cover Work-related Injuries After Settlement
Can You Be Charged With Dui With Serious Bodily Injury If You Did Not Cause The Accident
The law for DUI with serious bodily injury states that as a result of operating the vehicle, the driver caused or contributed to causing serious bodily injury to the victim. If you did not cause or any way contribute to the accident, then you cannot be charged with DUI with serious bodily injury. However, if you are even .00001 percent at fault for contributing to the accident, then you can be charged with DUI with serious bodily injury.
Determining the cause of the accident can be a large point of contention in these types of cases and can drastically change the end result in these types of cases. In some situations, it can be advantageous consult an expert reconstructionist to help determine the cause of the accident. An accident reconstructionist can help determine important factors in the accident. These factors include the speed of the vehicles at the point of impact, whether the brakes were applied, or whether the throttle was applied at the time of the accident.
Vehicular Manslaughter Charges In Arizona
The more commonly charged vehicular Manslaughter does not require an extreme indifference to human life. Instead, it only requires a showing that a person recklessly caused the death of another person. In the context of Vehicular Manslaughter, recklessly means that a person is aware of and consciously disregards a substantial and unjustifiable risk that a death may occur. In a situation where DUI is involved, unawareness of the risk of death because ones voluntary intoxication is not a defense.
Vehicular Manslaughter is a class 2 dangerous felony punishable by prison from 7 to 21 years for a first-time offender.